Annual report

2017

Connectivity, security and operational excellence: serving our customers more than ever

In 2017, Belnet, the Belgian National Research & Education Network (NREN), has continued to expand its offer to customers through evermore high-performance connectivity. The organization has successfully pursued several major projects in order to serve federal government departments, as well as its long-standing customers in research and education. Highlights, challenges, opportunities: things that are key to Jan Torreele, Belnet’s Director.

Interview with Jan Torreele

“As 2017 ends, I would like to pass on my sincerest thanks to all Belnet staff members, for their considerable efforts, which far surpass what we are entitled to expect from our employees. They have really helped us to achieve our targets! I would also like to thank our customers, for their trust and loyalty. More than a supplier, we seek to be a real partner, capable of developing solutions with them, which best meet their needs, offering them dedicated connectivity.”

Interview with Jan Torreele

“As 2017 ends, I would like to pass on my sincerest thanks to all Belnet staff members, for their considerable efforts, which far surpass what we are entitled to expect from our employees. They have really helped us to achieve our targets! I would also like to thank our customers, for their trust and loyalty. More than a supplier, we seek to be a real partner, capable of developing solutions with them, which best meet their needs, offering them dedicated connectivity.”

What were the highlights of 2017?

“We clarified strategic targets for 2017, with projects that defined the year: Belnet’s operational excellence, improvement in our ICT security, development of WANFIN (Wide Area Network) for the Federal Public Service (FPS) Finance, set-up of the fourth generation of the federal government department network, known as the Federal Metropolitan Area Network (FedMAN), implementation of govroam in FPS satellite offices, and internal consolidation of our organization.”

If you had to choose one event that defined the past year, what would it be?

“We pursued major projects for our customers: not only federal government departments, but also, of course, research and education, which are our primary raison d’être in the Belgian NREN. These projects are detailed in the coming pages. But, in particular, I should stress the effort put into further reinforcing our operational excellence. This is vital and gives all of our projects meaning.”

Read more

More specifically, what have you set up?

“In 2016, we were faced with technical incidents, unforeseen system failures. Our technical teams put a great deal of energy into restoring the operational excellence and stability for which our network is renowned. We also reinforced a series of internal measures, in terms of IT services management, tracking providers, project management etc. Twenty years ago, the Internet was marginal and crashes were considered the norm. Nowadays, our customers, and society in general, see their connectivity as critical. Their network access cannot be interrupted, or serious problems will be caused to the way they operate. So, our aim, at the operational level, is twofold: firstly, to ensure consistent uptime, i.e., as far as possible, uninterrupted connectivity; and secondly, to increase resilience, responding faster than usual in the event of a problem.”

Security is key to our work…

“Indeed. In 2017, for our customers, we introduced a service to protect and mitigate DDoS (distributed denial of service) attacks, which seek to shut down a server, service or infrastructure. Internally, we created a Security Board, pooling the skills of our different departments, which meets regularly to analyse and tighten the security of everything we do. Moreover, to make what our customers do more secure, for a long time, we have provided them with a digital certificate service: for servers, customers and source codes. Through the cooperation of NRENs at the European level (via the GÉANT platform), a global contract means that we can offer our customers very low prices, speeding up their ability to adopt secure implementation.”

In the future, what challenges will you have to rise to?

“The first challenge is Internet availability, permanent connectivity, which is uninterrupted and fast, something on which society at large relies. This has always been critical and essential, but it remains a challenge. In fact, like any technology, our infrastructure requires intervention and maintenance, so there is a risk of interruption. If you compare it, for example, with the vehicle sector, high-performance cars need regular maintenance, and you are never 100% guaranteed that they will not break down. The second challenge is the security of our customers’ business, especially in the fields of research and education.

A mere virus could shut down an entire hospital, with potentially dramatic consequences. Another example: protection against cyberattacks must now consider developments in the Internet of Things. Nowadays, a simple connected device, such as a webcam, may be used to take control. These devices cannot be configured. If they experience security failure, the user may not realize it. So, we must help our research and education customers cope with change, while, at the same time, working to develop the services they need.”

And opportunities?

“The future is in synergies, which enable us to achieve economies of scale, rationalize what we do and use public money. We have finalized an internal WAN for the FPS Finance. We must capitalize on this experience and encourage other institutions and government departments to benefit from it. Another possible synergy: decentralized offices of the FPS Finance in Belgium are also used by other FPSs. They could use the capacities that we have installed and work with shared connections. With this approach, there could only be one provider. But, in particular, our expertise and our situation, at the very heart of federal institutions, help us offer the solutions that are most appropriate to this kind of customer.”

Are your mission and core business changing?

“No. In 2017, we very much focused on our work for government departments, because key requirements had to be met. As a separately managed government department, we have provided services to other government departments since the very beginning. But, as the new description of our mission states, although we operate in the federal world, Belnet is and will remain the reference NREN player in Belgium.”

The Internet was created in the US as a network dedicated to education and universities. It is also for this reason that the Belgian government decided to create a scientific network.

Since 2016, Belnet has been involved in the federal policy on client orientation set up by the FPS Policy and Support (BOSA). In this context, the report 2017 mentions two complaints received and settled within the official deadlines to the satisfaction of the complainants.

Key figures

NUMBER OF END USERS PER CUSTOMER GROUP (TOTAL AT THE END OF 2017: 806,283)

NUMBER OF END USERS PER CUSTOMER GROUP (TOTAL AT THE END OF 2017: 80

NUMBER OF END USERS

NUMBER OF END USERS

NUMBER OF INSTITUTIONS PER CUSTOMER GROUP (AT THE END OF 2017: 193)

NUMBER OF INSTITUTIONS PER CUSTOMER GROUP (AT THE END OF 2017: 193)

THE TOTAL ACCESS CAPACITY OF BELNET CUSTOMERS, IN GBIT/S

THE TOTAL ACCESS CAPACITY OF BELNET CUSTOMERS, IN GBIT/S

NUMBER OF FOLLOWERS

NUMBER OF FOLLOWERS

Highlights

01|17
Complete integration of FedMAN in the Belnet network

Following the government department’s reorganization, Belnet has become the FedMAN’s Service Owner and the single point of contact for this network.

03|17
Set-up of a new ITIL process

To ensure a maximum uninterrupted connectivity service and best meet customer requirements, Belnet has created an ITSM department dedicated to applying and tracking good IT management practices.

03|17
Completion of the implementation of the WANFIN

Belnet’s expertise has expanded into the internal network of a public administration. The FPS Finance satellite offices now use Belnet connectivity.

06|17
Launch of Belnet guestroam

Institutions using eduroam and/or govroam now have access to a new functionality, which allows their visitors to receive temporary access to their Wi-Fi network (govroam/eduroam).

10|17
New monitoring on my.belnet.be

For a more pleasant experience for its customers, Belnet has improved interface quality and interactivity, allowing them to consult their connectivity statistics.

10|17
BNC 2017

The Belnet Networking Conference brought together 140 participants and covered all ICT-related subjects of the moment: AI, big data, cybersecurity… It was also an occasion to present the internal changes made by Belnet to better meet the requirements of its customers.

11|17
GDPR brochure and check-up tool

Belnet provided its customers with a brochure and online tool to help them come into line with GDPR standards. These were developed by the Cyber Security Coalition, of which Belnet is a member, and the Centre for Cyber Security Belgium.

12|17
Traffic peak of 260 Gbit/s on the BNIX network

The BNIX has experienced a traffic peak of 260 Gbit/s, the highest ever recorded.

Mission

Belnet is the Belgian National Research & Education Network (NREN). It stimulates the deployment of knowledge and the information society by providing and maintaining high-quality innovative network infrastructures with associated services to meet the specific needs of higher education, researchers and government departments in Belgium through its expertise, unique position in the market and economies of scale.

Vision

The vision of Belnet, characterized as ‘Dedicated Connectivity’, revolves around four strategic objectives.

Trusted partner
Belnet is a reliable and trusted partner offering value-added services on a high-quality network.

Focus on services and security
Belnet clearly focuses on a range of services that use the connectivity it offers. The specific attention given to security is the common theme in the provision of services.

High-quality network
A high-quality network is a sine qua non for serving customers and being able to provide them with new services.

Professional organization
Belnet is a professional organization that follows clear rules and reports with complete transparency.

Values

Trust
Belnet is a reliable, stable, non-commercial and neutral partner among its customers.

Dedicated
Focused on service to customers and the community, Belnet develops services and a specific infrastructure tailored to their needs.

Effectiveness
Belnet is an effective, efficient and high-quality organization.

Professionalism
Belnet works professionally by providing the necessary expertise and know-how.

4 focus on Belnet's activities in 2017

Belnet, an overview of the organization

2017 Budget accounts and results

Download our Annual Report

Rapport Annuel

2017

Connectivité, sécurité, excellence opérationnelle:
plus que jamais au service de nos clients

En 2017, Belnet, le National Research & Education Network (NREN) belge a poursuivi son développement pour offrir à ses clients une connectivité toujours plus performante. L’organisation 
a pu mener à bien plusieurs projets majeurs, au service de l’administration fédérale mais aussi de ses clients historiques que sont la recherche et l’éducation. Temps forts, défis, opportunités : le point avec Jan Torreele, Directeur de Belnet.

Entretien avec Jan Torreele

« À l’issue de cette année 2017, je tiens à remercier profondément tous les membres du personnel de Belnet, pour leurs efforts considérables qui dépassent de loin ce que l’on est en droit d’attendre de nos collaborateurs. Ils ont largement contribué à la réalisation de nos objectifs ! J’aimerais également remercier nos clients, pour leur confiance et leur fidélité. Plus qu’un fournisseur, nous tenons à être un réel partenaire, capable de développer avec eux les solutions qui correspondent le mieux à leurs besoins et de leur offrir une dedicated connectivity. »

Entretien avec Jan Torreele

« À l’issue de cette année 2017, je tiens à remercier profondément tous les membres du personnel de Belnet, pour leurs efforts considérables qui dépassent de loin ce que l’on est en droit d’attendre de nos collaborateurs. Ils ont largement contribué à la réalisation de nos objectifs ! J’aimerais également remercier nos clients, pour leur confiance et leur fidélité. Plus qu’un fournisseur, nous tenons à être un réel partenaire, capable de développer avec eux les solutions qui correspondent le mieux à leurs besoins et de leur offrir une dedicated connectivity. »

Quels ont été les temps forts de l’année 2017 ?

« Nous avions défini des axes stratégiques pour 2017 et les projets qui ont marqué l’année en découlent : l’excellence opérationnelle de Belnet, l’amélioration de notre sécurité ICT, le développement du réseau WANFIN (Wide Area Network) pour le Service Public Fédéral (SPF) Finances, la mise en place de la quatrième génération du réseau des administrations fédérales FedMAN, l’implémentation de govroam dans les bureaux satellites des Services Publics Fédéraux, et la consolidation in­terne de notre organisation. »

S’il fallait retenir un élément marquant de l’année écoulée, quel serait-il ?

« Nous avons développé des projets importants pour nos clients : les administrations fédérales mais aussi, bien sûr, la recherche et l’éducation (R&E) qui sont notre première raison d’être en tant que National Research & Education Network (NREN) belge. Ces projets sont détaillés dans les pages qui suivent. Mais je tiens tout particulièrement à souligner les efforts mis en œuvre pour renforcer encore notre excellence opérationnelle. Celle-­ci est indispensable et donne du sens à tous nos projets. »

Lire plus

Concrètement, qu’avez- vous mis en place ?

« En 2016, nous avions été confrontés à des incidents techniques, des failles que nous ne pouvions pas anticiper. Nos équipes techniques ont mis beau­coup d’énergie pour reprendre la main sur l’excellence opérationnelle et la stabilité qui font la réputation de notre réseau. Nous avons aussi renforcé une série de mesures internes, au niveau de la gestion des services IT, du contrôle de nos fournisseurs, du project manage­ment, etc. Il y a vingt ans, l’internet était marginal et une panne était considérée comme normale. Aujourd’hui, nos clients, et la société en général, comptent sur leur connectivité de façon critique. Leur accès au réseau ne peut pas être inter­rompu, sous peine de sérieux problèmes dans leur fonctionnement. Notre objectif, au niveau opérationnel, est donc double : d’une part assurer toujours plus d’uptime, c’est­-à­-dire, autant que possible, une connectivité ininterrompue; d’autre part, renforcer la résilience, un retour rapide à la normale en cas de problème. »

La sécurité reste un axe de travail majeur…

« En effet. En 2017, nous avons concré­tisé, pour nos clients, un service de protection et de mitigation contre les attaques de type DDoS, qui visent à rendre un serveur, un service ou une infrastructure indisponible. En interne, nous avons constitué un Security Board, qui rassemble des responsables de nos différents départements et se réunit régulièrement, pour analyser et renforcer la sécurité dans toutes nos ac­tivités. Par ailleurs, pour une meilleure sécurisation des activités de nos clients, nous leur proposons, depuis longtemps, un service de certificats digitaux : pour serveurs, clients et codes sources. Grâce à la collaboration entre NRENs au niveau européen (via la plateforme GÉANT), un contrat global nous permet de faire bénéficier nos clients de prix très avantageux, ce qui accélère l’adoption d’implémentations sécurisées. »

À l’avenir, quels défis devrez-vous relever?

« Le premier défi est la disponibilité de l’internet, cette connectivité per­manente, sans rupture ni encombre­ment, sur laquelle compte la société toute entière. Ce always up est devenu critique et essentiel, mais il reste un défi. En effet, à l’instar de toute technologie, notre infrastructure nécessite des interventions, une maintenance, avec un risque d’interruption. Si l’on compare, par exemple, avec le secteur automobile, la plus performante des voitures a besoin d’un entretien régulier… et elle n’est jamais à 100% à l’abri d’une panne. Le second défi, c’est la sécurité pour les activités de nos clients, particu­lièrement dans le domaine académique et de la recherche.

Un simple virus peut mettre un hôpital tout entier à l’arrêt, avec des conséquences qui peuvent être dramatiques. Autre exemple, la protec­tion contre les cyberattaques doit dé­sormais tenir compte du développement de l’internet des objets. Aujourd’hui, de simples appareils connectés, comme une webcam, peuvent permettre de prendre le contrôle. Ces appareils ne sont pas configurables. S’ils comportent une faille de sécurité, l’utilisateur ne peut pas s’en rendre compte. Nous devons donc assis­ter nos clients R&E face à cette évolution tout en travaillant au développement de services dont ils ont besoin. »

Et les opportunités ?

« L’avenir est dans les synergies, qui permettent de faire des économies d’échelle, de rationaliser nos activités et l’utilisation des deniers publics. Nous avons finalisé un réseau interne WAN pour le SPF Finances. Nous devons capitaliser sur cette expérience et en faire bénéficier d’autres institutions et administrations. Autre synergie pos­sible : les bureaux décentralisés du SPF Finances en Belgique sont aussi utilisés par d’autres SPF. Ces derniers pourraient utiliser les capacités que nous avons installées et travailler en connexion partagée. Cette approche permettrait de n’avoir qu’un seul fournisseur. Mais surtout, notre expertise et notre situation, au sein­ même des institutions fédérales, nous aident à offrir les solutions les plus appropriées pour ce type de clients. »

Votre mission et votre core business évoluent-ils ?

« Non. Nous avons beaucoup évoqué notre travail pour des administrations publiques en 2017, parce que des besoins importants devaient être comblés. En tant que service d’état à gestion séparée, nous offrons depuis nos débuts des services aux administrations. Mais comme le rappelle le nouveau descriptif de notre mission, même si nous nous développons dans l’univers fédéral, Belnet est et reste l’acteur de référence NREN en Belgique. »

L’internet a été créé, aux États-Unis, comme réseau dédié à la recherche et aux universités. C’est également pour cette raison que le gouvernement belge a décidé de créer un réseau scientifique.

Belnet participe depuis 2016 à la politique fédérale en matière d’orientation client mise en place par le SPF Stratégie et Appui (BOSA). Dans ce cadre, le rapport 2017 fait état de 2 plaintes reçues et réglées dans les délais officiels à la satisfaction des plaignants. 

Chiffres-Clés

NOMBRE D’UTILISATEURS FINAUX PAR GROUPE DE CLIENTS (TOTAL FIN 2017 : 806.283)

NOMBRE D’UTILISATEURS FINAUX PAR GROUPE DE CLIENTS (TOTAL FIN 2017 : 806.283)

ÉVOLUTION DU NOMBRE D’UTILISATEURS FINAUX

ÉVOLUTION DU NOMBRE D’UTILISATEURS FINAUX

NOMBRE D’INSTITUTIONS PAR GROUPE DE CLIENTS (FIN 2017 : 193)

NOMBRE D’INSTITUTIONS PAR GROUPE DE CLIENTS (FIN 2017 : 193)

ÉVOLUTION DE LA CAPACITÉ TOTALE D’ACCÈS DES CLIENTS, EN GBIT/S

ÉVOLUTION DE LA CAPACITÉ TOTALE D’ACCÈS DES CLIENTS, EN GBIT/S

NOMBRE DE FOLLOWERS

NOMBRE DE FOLLOWERS

Faits marquants

01|17
Intégration complète de FedMAN au réseau Belnet

Suite à une réorganisation du service public, Belnet est devenu le Service Owner de FedMAN et l’unique interlocuteur pour ce réseau.

03|17
Mise en place d’un nouveau département ITSM

Afin d’assurer au maximum un service de connectivité ininterrompue et de répondre au mieux aux besoins de ses clients, Belnet a constitué un département ITSM dédié à l’application et au suivi des bonnes pratiques en matière de gestion IT.

03|17
Achèvement de l’implémentation du réseau WANFIN

L’expertise de Belnet s’est élargie au réseau interne d’une administration publique. Les bureaux satellites du SPF Finances bénéficient désormais d’une connectivité Belnet.

06|17
Lancement de Belnet guestroam

Les institutions utilisant eduroam et/ou govroam ont désormais accès à une nou­velle fonctionnalité, qui permet à leurs visiteurs de recevoir un accès temporaire à leur réseau Wi­Fi (govroam et/ou eduroam).

10|17
Un nouveau monitoring sur my.belnet.be

Afin d’offrir à ses clients une expérience plus agréable, Belnet a amélioré la qualité et l’interactivité de l’interface leur permettant de consulter leurs statistiques de connectivité.

10|17
BNC 2017

La Belnet Networking Conférence a réuni 140 partici­pants et abordé tous les sujets d’actualité en matière d’ICT : IA, Big Data, Cybersecurity… Ce fut l’occasion de présenter les changements internes effectués par Belnet pour mieux répondre aux besoins de ses clients.

11|17
Brochure and outil RGPD Checkup

Soucieux d’accompagner ses clients dans leur mise aux normes du RGPD (Règlement général sur la protection des données), Belnet a mis à leur disposition, un outil en ligne et une brochure pour s’y préparer. Ces derniers ont été développés par la Cyber Security Coalition (CSC), dont Belnet fait partie, et le Centre for Cyber Security Belgique (CCB).

12|17
Pic de trafic de 260 GBITS sur le réseau BNIX

BNIX a connu un pic de trafic de 260Gbit/s, soit le plus élevé jamais enregistré.

Mission

Belnet est le National Research & Education Network (NREN) belge. Belnet stimule le déploiement de la société de la connaissance et de l’information en fournissant et en entretenant des infrastructures de réseau novatrices de grande qualité, avec les services associés, pour répondre aux besoins spécifiques de l’enseignement supérieur, de la recherche et des administrations publiques en Belgique; et ce grâce à son expertise, sa position unique sur le marché et ses économies d’échelle.

Vision

La vision de Belnet « Dedicated Connectivity » s’articule autour de quatre objectifs stratégiques.

Être un partenaire de confiance
Pour ses clients, Belnet est un partenaire fiable et de confiance qui offre des services d’excellente valeur sur un réseau de qualité supérieure.

Mettre l’accent sur les services et la sécurité
Belnet met l’accent sur une offre de services liés à la connectivité de Belnet. La sécurité est le fil rouge de cette prestation de services.

Proposer un réseau de qualité supérieure
La qualité supérieure du réseau Belnet reste une condition essentielle pour servir notre clientèle et offrir de nouveaux services.

Être une organisation professionnelle
Belnet est une organisation professionnelle dont les règles sont clairement établies et les rapports transparents.

Valeurs

Confiance
Belnet est un partenaire fiable, stable, non commercial et neutre pour ses clients.

Dédié
Belnet est dévoué à ses clients et développe une infrastructure et des services adaptés à leurs besoins.

Efficacité
Belnet est une organisation efficace, performante et de qualité.

Professionnalisme
Belnet fonctionne de manière professionnelle avec l’expertise et le savoir-faire nécessaires.

4 focus sur les activités de Belnet en 2017

Belnet, vue d'ensemble de l'organisation

Comptes et résultats budgétaires de 2017

Télécharger notre rapport annuel